Annual Keyboarding Contest


keyboard contest image

Timed writing & application must be postmarked by Friday, April 1.



  • First place, $50
  • Second place, $25
  • Overall winner, $25


  • Two students from each level (intermediate/middle, high school, and college) will be given an award
  • Winner will be determined by the highest net words a minute (NWAM)
  • Student with the highest NWAM will be the overall winner and receive an additional $25 monetary award Contest Procedures
  • Five-minute timed writing must be completed using a keyboarding software that automatically imprints the speed and errors
  • Five (5) maximum errors will be allowed for software programs with no backspacing available; two (2) point deduction per error
  • No errors allowed on timed writings with backspacing available

Contest Eligibility

  • State of Hawa'i intermediate/middle, high school, or college student
  • Contestant must be sponsored by a current HBEA member

Congratulations 2016 Keyboarding Contest Winners

HBEA Keyboard Contest Winners

Kathlen Lee, 100 NWM
Kauai Community College

Nicole Saito, 81 NWM
Hawai`i Community College

HBEA Keyboard Contest Winners

Sponsoring teachers
Cheryl Fujii (Kauai CC),
Anne Chung (Hawai'i CC),
and Warren Kawano (Contest Chair)

Have a question? Contact Us